HomeQ&APensamientos - Thoughts II, translate and post your opinion, English or Spanish: Soy autodidacta..

Pensamientos - Thoughts II, translate and post your opinion, English or Spanish: Soy autodidacta..

10
votes

–The sentences I am going to post are by my one and only José Luis Alvitekiss, as sarcastic and ironic as ususalwink Instead of posting this a killer thread, I thought I might post one sentence every other day or so.

I would like you to post the translation and post your opinion about the sentence. I will correct the translation, and if you post an opinión in Spanish correct major grammar mistakes, You can post in English, but let's get a lot of opinions on these contraversial sentences.

One sentence every postwink

Here goes number two:

Soy autodidacta. Todo lo que desconozco, lo desconozco por mí mismo

5556 views
updated ABR 22, 2010
posted by 00494d19
You owe me two aspirin Heidi because my brain is hurting. jejeje - Nicole-B, ABR 21, 2010
lol - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010

24 Answers

4
votes

I am self-taught. Everything I am ignorant of, I am ignorant of it by my own doing.

Creo que el uso de autodidacta está usado en un sentido muy general. Todos somos autodidactas de vez en cuando, especialmente después de que nuestra formación haya terminado. Nuestras vidas nos ofrecen muchas oportunidades para aprender acerca de las cosas culturales o técnicas, cualquier cosa que ignoramos. Si elegimos quedar ignorantes, eso es nuestra opción.

I believe that the use of autodidact is used in a very general sense. We are all self-taught from time to time, especially after our formal educations have ended. Our lives offer us many opportunities to learn about cultural or technical things, anything of which we are ignorant. If we choose to remain ignorant, that is our choice.

Corrijan mi español, por favor. Gracias.

updated ABR 22, 2010
edited by h1deaway
posted by h1deaway
está usado, todos somos autodidactas, después de que nuestra formación haya terminado, cosa que ignoramos. - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010
Gracias, Heidita. - h1deaway, ABR 21, 2010
you were the first to give the correct translation, good job and good job on your opinion in Spanish;) - 00494d19, ABR 22, 2010
Thanks again, Heidita. - h1deaway, ABR 22, 2010
2
votes

Nicole, your head is steaming, LOL

updated ABR 22, 2010
edited by 00494d19
posted by 00494d19
2
votes

I'm self-taught. Everything that I'm totally ignorant about; I'm totally ignorant about by my own doing.

Pues, lo lógico fuera que todo lo que aprendí; aprendí por mí mismo o todo lo que conozco; conozco por mí mismo pero el sarcástico dice lo opuesto. La segunda oración no tiene nada que ver con ser autodidacta. Sólo quiere decir que si no sabe algo es porque no ha hecho esfuerzos para aprenderlo.

updated ABR 22, 2010
edited by alba3
posted by alba3
lo opuesto, si no sabe algo, genial, alba, no espereraba menos de ti;) - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010
thanks :) - alba3, ABR 21, 2010
la cosa estaba entre tú y hide...a ver si la próxima frase, ya publicada;) - 00494d19, ABR 22, 2010
2
votes

Soy autodidacta. Todo lo que desconozco, lo desconozco por mí mismo.

"I am self taught. Everything that I don't know, I don't know it by same me".

It seems to be a double negative. Everything I don't know is used twice, he might mean "Everything I know".

"I am self taught. Everything I know, I know for myself."

However, if he is being honest, he could be recognizing how much man does not know and could be saying,

"I am self taught. Everything that I don't know, I don't know for myself".

updated ABR 21, 2010
posted by sanlee
that's it;) - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010
Wow, this one gets my vote just for making it through the tortured logic path. - 008f2974, ABR 21, 2010
1
vote

Soy autodidacta. Todo lo que desconozco, lo desconozco por mí mismo

I am a self-taught man. All who don’t know that, don’t know me.

Want to make sure I'm close to the correct translation before I give an opinion...

updated ABR 22, 2010
posted by CrazyDiamond
sorry, crazy, way off;) - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010
Yowch, really way off. - CrazyDiamond, ABR 22, 2010
1
vote

"I'm an autodidact. Everything I don't know, I don't know all by myself."

Jaja. ¿Dónde puedo leer más de José Luis Alvite? No puedo encontrar sus libros en los Estados Unidos. Leí en Wikipedia que escribe columnas. ¿En qué periódico puedo encontrar sus columnas? Gracias.

updated ABR 21, 2010
edited by MacFadden
posted by MacFadden
1
vote

Second attempt:rolleyes red face

I am self-taught. Everything that I am ignorant of, I am ignorant of it by myself.

updated ABR 21, 2010
posted by Nicole-B
:) now the opinion - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010
1
vote

My translation was: I am self-taught. Everything I don't know, I don't know for me the same.

This obviously made no sense, so I had to cheat and look at the other answers, which led me to look at the other uses of "mismo" in the dictionary. This is a good example of how a simple exercise can lead to a broader understanding of the language.

But, to get back to the point of this quote, is this a version of, "Everything I don't know, I don't need to know"?

updated ABR 21, 2010
edited by 008f2974
posted by 008f2974
no, that is not it - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010
1
vote

Soy autodidacta. Todo lo que desconozco, lo desconozco por mí mismo

I am self-educated. All that I don't know, I don't know it for myself (for my own reasons)

comment: Es decir que ha elegido determinar lo que es importante conocer en vez de dejar que otra persona deba decidirlo. Para mí, tiene lógica porque hay demasiada gente que sólo quiere aprender lo que otra persona le da mascado para entender. Para este tipo, no cree que pueda aprender por sí mismo pero siempre necesita que otra persona (un maestro, un profesor, un colegio, y más) escoja a su gusto los conocimientos los que son importantes saber. Tal vez Alvite esté haciendo una crítica cáustica acerca del estado general del sistema educativo que parece estar confiriendo diplomas a los autómatas bien programados en lugar de los estudiantes que saben pensar y aprender por sí mismos. O quizá, no....no sé.

updated ABR 21, 2010
edited by 00494d19
posted by Izanoni1
not a good translation, izan - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010
some corrections bolded, izan, no, that is not it - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010
gracias por las correcciones :) - Izanoni1, ABR 21, 2010
1
vote

I am a self-taught person. All that I don't know, I myself don't know.

I know this is not a good translation because it is neither funny nor ironic, and doesn't make much sense!

updated ABR 21, 2010
posted by LaBurra
jeje, this guy is just too much, yeah, that's not it - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010
1
vote

I am self-taught. Everything I do not know, I do not know because of (by) me.

If this is close to the correct translation, I believe it means we are all self-taught to a certain extent. We may have teachers and instructors, but we are responsible for what we absorb and apply in our lives.

If we are ignorant about something, it is due to our own irresponsibility or inability to learn.

(Crossing my fingers...wink )

updated ABR 21, 2010
posted by Nicole-B
Now that I'm looking at this again, it doesn't seem sarcastic enough. I'm guessing I have more work to do. - Nicole-B, ABR 21, 2010
true, jeje, that is not it - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010
1
vote

Soy autodidacta. Todo lo que desconozco, lo desconozco por mí mismo

I'm self-taught. Everything I don't know, I refuse to recognize.

Por supuesto, creo que su declaración es hecho sarcásticamente. Es gracioso pensar que la cosas que no sé son cosas que puedo sencillamente ignorar.

updated ABR 21, 2010
edited by --Mariana--
posted by --Mariana--
no es la interpretación correcta, marianne - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010
:-( - --Mariana--, ABR 21, 2010
1
vote

Perhaps there is a play on the word desconocer ?

"I'm self-taught. Everything I don't know, I ignore."

This saying then has the implication "Anything that I don't know is not worth knowing." or "There're things that I don't know, but it's only because I choose not to learn them."

A lo mejor hay un juego de palabras sobre "desconocer" , con lo cual esta frase sea llena de matices?

updated ABR 21, 2010
edited by peterpierre2
posted by peterpierre2
jeje, good idea, but no, canot be understood that way - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010
1
vote

I'm a self taught. Everything I don't know, I don't know it for myself.

Mi comentario:

¿Quién puede decir que lo sabe todo? Respeto a los que tienen el valor para admitir que no saben. Si sabemos demasiado, corremos peligro. rolleyes

updated ABR 21, 2010
edited by luz_72
posted by luz_72
I'm working on my opinion in Spanish Heidita:) - luz_72, ABR 21, 2010
good job, luz!! you know I love people to at least try! let's see: que lo sabe....respeto a los que tienen el..saben. Si sabemos demasiado.... - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010
...thanks Heidita:) - luz_72, ABR 21, 2010
corremos , missed that;) - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010
...no way:)...you didn't miss it Heidita, I corrected it cause I thought it should be in the subjunctive because of "si" in the first clause...obviously not:) - luz_72, ABR 21, 2010
omg...lol funny - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010
1
vote

Translation: I am an autodidact. Everything I don't know, I 'm ignorant of it for my own reasons.

Un hombre como me gustan a uno.

A man after my own heart.

I looked for this nice useful phrase in our phrasebook but I'm still uncertain how to use it, waiting for correction/comment thanks Heidita!

Edited due to hastiness in original response...

Ok, so our quick 'double-click' word definition has it wrong there, I should have used my instinct and looked it up properly!!

Now I don't know what to think; if he is being sarcastic and mocking people who like to learn in their own way, I disagree with him - I would rather be myself and make my own mistakes and live my own life (including living with my chosen ignorance, and living with the consequences of my mistakes) than have someone else teach me what they think I should learn and how to live my life.

Maybe I need to wait and see what else he says to get on his wavelength...

updated ABR 21, 2010
edited by galsally
posted by galsally
Sally, be careful with Alvite, he is sarcastic, the translation is not correct;) - 00494d19, ABR 21, 2010
aaah I did wonder!! - galsally, ABR 21, 2010
SpanishDict is the world's most popular Spanish-English dictionary, translation, and learning website.
© Curiosity Media Inc.