ASK A QUESTION VIRUS warnings
31 Answers
I took a screenshot and attached it.
The virus seems to be contained within an iframe which is an HTML object that lets you load other pages within your page. For example I could use it to create a webpage that loads, google, yahoo, and live all in the same page.
This make me believe that it could be one of the advertisements that load an evil webpage.
I hope that helps!
!Salud!
Joseph
PS:
I just see a totally blank page and that's all I see when I try to view the source code, too.
Firefox 3.0.8
The reason there is no source is because your anti virus blocks the connection to the page, preventing it from downloading anything so that you do not get the virus.
My Norton Antivirus alerted 45 times to this website.[size=4][/size]
I definitely think they are having some problems with their links. Some appear to be zipped (XML? XHTML') files that are setting off virus alarms.
the only way I can log in to use my flash cards is to turn off my firewall. That was actually a problem I had before too. I'm not thrilled with that it really leaves me open.
My virus checker is reporting that when I try to access the reference pages the opening page tries to download a virus.
Anyone else had this happen recently?
If not, I'll report a false positive to the software people (Avast!).[/b]
I just see a totally blank page and that's all I see when I try to view the source code, too.
Firefox 3.0.8
I am getting the same message...and on other pages too.
I guess we got to wait until the codes have been changed.
My virus checker is reporting that when I try to access the reference pages the opening page tries to download a virus.
Anyone else had this happen recently?
If not, I'll report a false positive to the software people (Avast!).[/b]
You might want to look at some of the other posts about recent virus warnings. I've been getting them when using several links on SpanishDict.com (and nowhere else). I had my virus software scan my computer (Avast and then Live OneCare) and it keeps telling me that I have a possible virus connected to my RSS download of the Word of the Day. As I have the SpanishDict toolbar which checks for RSS feeds and email every 10 or 15 minutes I've been seeing that warning a lot. I hope someone didn't slip a virus into the Word of the Day and it's effecting the use of hyperlinks on the site. A couple of us tried accessing the Reference section yesterday and were either unsuccessful or reached a page that definitely wasn't the Reference section. Of course with the state of repairs going on who knows what is actually happening.
An interesting aside: I put a SpanishDict.com link on my Facebook site and when you clicked it (http://mySpanishDict.com/forum/) it took you to that exact page. It seems to advertise this site. I may be an unpublished page.
Follow up: Oops! my mistake. The URL of our site is my.spanishdict.com/forum (with a period after my) The link I wrote is another site entirely)
In any case, I will call the attention of Nick to this issue, thanks for pointing it out.
I'm getting that as well when going to the home page as well it has happened twice so far.
I uninstalled my AVG on Friday to see if it was hogging all of my RAM and happened to go to the opening screen of spanishdict.com before replacing it. My computer was locking up and was saying that it was trying to load "xtrarobotz.com/p1d2f3.php'id=".
I didn't have a problem on other parts of spanishdict.com so I just took the main page off of my favorites.
yep it's happening to me too. It says something about a virus and wont let you go to the page. Hopefully it will be fixed soon
I took a screenshot and attached it.
The virus seems to be contained within an iframe which is an HTML object that lets you load other pages within your page. For example I could use it to create a webpage that loads, google, yahoo, and live all in the same page.
This make me believe that it could be one of the advertisements that load an evil webpage.
I hope that helps!
!Salud!
Joseph
PS:
I just see a totally blank page and that's all I see when I try to view the source code, too.
Firefox 3.0.8
The reason there is no source is because your anti virus blocks the connection to the page, preventing it from downloading anything so that you do not get the virus.
The question is whether that is a false positive warning from your virus checker program? Is there acually a virus or something that your virus program is perceivng as a virus? The reason I wonder is because it's being picked up by several links and not consistantly. I was getting virus warnings from a link in a discussion repy. When I looked at the code I found that it was a XHTML (zipped format) file, containing a javascript program that my virus checker perceived as a virus. I was wondering if perhaps they were upgrading the site to make it XML format (zipped files) compliant and the new format was setting off virus checkers. We don't know bacause the IT staff here hasn't responded to the viral warnings yet.
Hi,
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. A security hole in the software on the reference and word of the day allowed malicious code to be put into the site, which is why the error was coming up. We have identified the code and removed it, and the problem should be solved. If you see anything else that is suspicious, please respond to this thread.
All the best,
Chris

Comentarios
Add Comment